Who we are

people behind the DOSI project

DOSI Executive & HQ

Lisa Levin

(Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA)

Read more

Elva Escobar

(Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)

Read more

Maria Baker

(University of Southampton, National Oceanography Centre, UK)

Read more

Kristina Gjerde

(International Union for Conservation of Nature, USA)

Read more

Harriet Harden-Davies

(University of Wollongong, Australia)

Read more

Diva Amon

(SpeSeas, Trinidad and Tobago / Natural History Museum, UK)

Read more

Brandon Gertz

Communications and Network Development Lead

Read more

DOSI Advisory Board (2021 – 2023)

Jeff Ardron

(Commonwealth Secretariat, UK)

Read more
Jon Copley, DOSI Advisory Board

Jon Copley

(University of Southampton, UK)

Read more

Judith Gobin

(University of the West Indies, Trinidad & Tobago)

Read more
Maila Guilhon, DOSI Advisory Board

Maila Guilhon

(University of Sao Paolo, Brazil)

Read more
Baban Ingole, DOSI Advisory Board

Baban Ingole

(National Centre for Polar & Ocean Research, India)

Read more
Se-Jong Ju, DOSI Board Member

Se-Jong Ju

(Korean Institute of Ocean Science and Technology, South Korea)

Read more

Alan Leonardi

(NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration & Research, USA)

Read more
Hannah Lily, Lawyer, DOSI Advisory Board

Hannah Lily

(Hannah Lily Law, UK)

Read more

Rose Lesley Kautoke

(Government of the Kingdom of Tonga, Tonga)

Read more

Anna Metaxas

(Dalhousie University, Canada)

Read more

Agnes Muthumbi

(University of Nairobi, Kenya)

Read more

Pei-Yuan Qian

(Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)

Read more

Eva Ramirez-Llodra

(NIVA, Norway & REV Ocean, Norway)

Read more

Francesca Santoro

(UNESCO-IOC, France)

Read more
Julia Sigwart, DOSI Advisory Board

Julia Sigwart

(Queen's University, N. Ireland)

Read more
Oliver Steeds, Nekton

Oliver Steeds

(Nekton, UK)

Read more

Torsten Thiele

(LSE Institute of Global Affairs, London & Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Germany & Global Ocean Trust founder)

Read more
Alix Willemez, DOSI Advisory Board

Alix Willemez

(Global Environment Facility, Côte d'Ivoire)

Read more

DOSI Topic Working Groups and Leads


(Harriet Harden-Davies,Paul Snelgrove – Memorial University, Canada, Jeff Marlow – Harvard, USA) 

Deep-Sea Minerals

(Diva Amon – Natural History Museum London, UK, Sabine Gollner – NIOZ, Netherlands, Patricia Esquete – CESAM, Portugal & Jesse van der Grient, University of Hawaii, USA)

Climate Change

(Moriaki Yasuhara– University of Hong Kong  & Lisa Levin – Scripps, USA) 

Offshore Energy

(Erik Cordes – Temple University, USA, Daniel Jones – NOC, UK & Emilia Bravo – Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina) 

Deep-Ocean Fisheries

(Lissette Victorero – Norwegian Institute for Water Research / University of Aveiro, Portugal & Matthew Gianni – DSCC, Netherlands) 

Marine Genetic Resources

(Elva Escobar Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Marcel Jaspers – University of Aberdeen, UK & Muriel Rabone – Natural History Museum) 

Deep-Sea Tailings Disposal 

New leads to be confirmed

New Technologies

(Dhugal Lindsay – Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan) 

Decade of Deep-Ocean Science

(Ana Hilario – University of Aveiro, Portugal & Kerry Howell, University of Plymouth, UK) 

Pollution & Debris

(Lucy Woodall – University of Oxford, UK, Nelia Mestre – University of Algarve, Portugal & Shamik Dasgupta – Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)